<div _ngcontent-c17 innerhtml="

"Call

Call of Duty Mobile

Credit: Activision

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare may be dominating the conversation where Activision’s major shooter franchise is concerned, but there’s another, surprisingly competent mobile port that’s simmering there in the background as well. Call of Duty Mobile just announced that it’s going to get a major update with two of its most-request features in two: full controller support and zombies. Technically you can already use a controller in Call of Duty Mobile via a roundabout official PC emulator, but this is going to significantly simplify the process.

The team announced the new features in a Reddit post. They’ll arrive with an update at 12:00 AM Eastern time, November 23. Here are some international launch times:

  • Los Angeles: Nov 22 – 21:00 PST
  • New York: Nov 23 – 00:00 EST
  • Sao Paulo: Nov 23 – 2:00 BRT
  • London: Nov 23- 5:00 GMT
  • Stockholm: Nov 23 – 6:00 CET
  • Berlin: Nov 23 – 6:00 CET
  • Moscow: Nov 23 – 8:00 MSK
  • New Delhi: Nov 23 – 10:30 IST
  • Sydney: Nov 23 – 16:00 AEDT
  • Tokyo: Nov 23 – 14:00 JST

The post also talks about the new battle pass, which will be coming our way on November 25, though there aren’t many new details on that yet.

I’m excited: Call of Duty Mobile might be understandably a little bit less involved than its big sibling over on console, but it’s a pleasing way to while away some time and a relatively successful translation of what can make Call of Duty essentially satisfying. And zombies fits right into that: I’m a PvE player before I’m a PvP player, for the most part, and I hope that the mobile version of that experience can scratch that itch while I’m watching Great British Baking Show, or whatever.

I am curious as to how the game is going to handle controllers where matchmaking is concerned, however. A controller offers a benefit over touchscreen controls, just like mouse and keyboard offers a benefit over a controller. Fortnite has been messing around with how to do matchmaking across a range of inputs for a while now, recently deciding to move away from strict input-based matchmaking and towards skill-based matchmaking, meaning that people with touchscreens might come up against mouse and keyboard users, but only if they’re good enough to pose a theoretical challenge.

There may come a time when we’re all just streaming console-style games to our phones, but it’s clear that that time isn’t happening yet. Until then, I’m more than happy to play simpler experiences geared for touchscreen controls.

” readability=”46.022008803521″>

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare may be dominating the conversation where Activision’s major shooter franchise is concerned, but there’s another, surprisingly competent mobile port that’s simmering there in the background as well. Call of Duty Mobile just announced that it’s going to get a major update with two of its most-request features in two: full controller support and zombies. Technically you can already use a controller in Call of Duty Mobile via a roundabout official PC emulator, but this is going to significantly simplify the process.

The team announced the new features in a Reddit post. They’ll arrive with an update at 12:00 AM Eastern time, November 23. Here are some international launch times:

  • Los Angeles: Nov 22 – 21:00 PST
  • New York: Nov 23 – 00:00 EST
  • Sao Paulo: Nov 23 – 2:00 BRT
  • London: Nov 23- 5:00 GMT
  • Stockholm: Nov 23 – 6:00 CET
  • Berlin: Nov 23 – 6:00 CET
  • Moscow: Nov 23 – 8:00 MSK
  • New Delhi: Nov 23 – 10:30 IST
  • Sydney: Nov 23 – 16:00 AEDT
  • Tokyo: Nov 23 – 14:00 JST

The post also talks about the new battle pass, which will be coming our way on November 25, though there aren’t many new details on that yet.

I’m excited: Call of Duty Mobile might be understandably a little bit less involved than its big sibling over on console, but it’s a pleasing way to while away some time and a relatively successful translation of what can make Call of Duty essentially satisfying. And zombies fits right into that: I’m a PvE player before I’m a PvP player, for the most part, and I hope that the mobile version of that experience can scratch that itch while I’m watching Great British Baking Show, or whatever.

I am curious as to how the game is going to handle controllers where matchmaking is concerned, however. A controller offers a benefit over touchscreen controls, just like mouse and keyboard offers a benefit over a controller. Fortnite has been messing around with how to do matchmaking across a range of inputs for a while now, recently deciding to move away from strict input-based matchmaking and towards skill-based matchmaking, meaning that people with touchscreens might come up against mouse and keyboard users, but only if they’re good enough to pose a theoretical challenge.

There may come a time when we’re all just streaming console-style games to our phones, but it’s clear that that time isn’t happening yet. Until then, I’m more than happy to play simpler experiences geared for touchscreen controls.

Let’s block ads! (Why?)


Source link